A Decade Away

I consider myself a runner, some might say I jog, shuffle, plod but the art of putting one’s foot in front of the other at more than walking speed makes you a runner. Well in my mind anyway.

Runners have staple challenges, distances, time barriers etc. One of the staples of the running world is the 10k race. And I’m actually racing one on Sunday in Southport. This will be my first race of the year, having missed all my others due to illness. To say I’m excited would be a gross understatement. I’m also nervous and that’s a good thing because I use that nervous energy to fuel my desire to keep moving forward.

I’ve been back and checked, and weirdly even though I consider myself a runner, I haven’t raced a 10k since 2007.

A DECADE AGO !!!

Bloody hell, I’m such a slacker. ( Well actually I’m not as I’ve done the odd other thing in the past 10 years ).

The last time I challenged myself to run 10k it was my worst ever performance over the distance. In my defence my 78 minutes came in horrific heat at the end of an Olympic triathlon in Walt Disney World,Florida. Sunday won’t be as hot and won’t involve a swim and a bike, so I would hope to be quicker than 78 minutes. It will hurt, I may throw up but I’ll give it everything to try and get a time I want. That’s what runners do I guess?

shuffling at Disney world in 2007

shuffling at Disney world in 2007

Ironically I’m doing this race so that I can use it as part of my seeding for another Disney World race. I need to submit a 10k time for a race there later this year so that I’m not placed in the last starting pen, which would be with the 2hr runners.

I can’t believe I’ve left it for a decade, I love the 10k distance, its the perfect mix of sprint and distance. The first race I ever did as an adult was a 10k, there was no parkrun back in the dark ages. And yes I know parkrun isn’t a race πŸ™‚

So I’m off to dust off my racing shoes, spend the next few days reminding myself that I’m a runner, and wake up on sunday morning like it’s Christmas 1978 and I’m an excited 6 year old ready to have fun.

NO MORE SLACKING, A NEW DECADE OF RACING LIES AHEAD.

4 responses to “A Decade Away

  1. Enjoy Andy! πŸ˜πŸ‘πŸΌπŸƒπŸ»πŸƒπŸ»πŸƒπŸ»

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

  2. Enjoy x

Leave a Reply

