Wetting myself

Yesterday I swam 1600m with no pain, even a month ago this would have been impossible yet it was easy and like I’d ever been away. It’s surprising how it all comes flowing back once you just push off from the wall and embrace your inner dolphin.

I think I have swum 4 times in the past month, nothing more than 800m. I started out with 400m, and let me tell you that first time I was a bundle of nerves and excitement.

I never thought I’d admit this but in the 17 months I’ve been injured I’ve really missed swimming. (Part of me still feels unclean for even admitting that)

My shoulder feels stiff for the first couple of lengths but then it eases off and it just leaves me to my own thoughts as swim lap after lap. The beauty of wearing my garmin 920 is I don’t have to count them anymore – maths was never my strong point. I’m still slow but I don’t care (for now).

I’ve worked damn hard to get to this point – with daily stretches, pulley work, theraband work, kettlebell stretches and I’m now planking and doing press ups on a bosu and gym ball to really challenge the joint into waking up properly. It all seems to be working. One final hurdle will be on the 17th December when I get the scar tissue cleaned out of the shoulder, this will put me out of action for a week but once done I should get full pain free mobility. I can’t wait.

I’ve also been building up my cycling and running over the past month and this week is a test week – data to be analysed by my coach Gobi and plans written based on the results. But more about that next time.

So at the ripe old age of 43 I never imagined that I’d be so pleased to be writing publically about wetting myself. But I am….

Until next time.

4 responses to “Wetting myself

  1. Great news Andy!!🏊 Wishing you and yours a Happy Xmas 🎅🎄 and a healthy new year to you!!🏊🚴🏃

  2. Possible progress Go forth and keep wet this winter

  3. Great news mate. Must feel fantastic after so long out. I’m 4 weeks into torn ankle ligaments. No S B or R. Doing my head in. Have a good Xmas.

Leave a Reply

