Getting a taste

On Sunday I’m off to a park in Burnley ( a northern mill town ) to watch my brother Craig race for 12 hours around a 5km trail loop in a park. He’s using it as part of his preparation for the World 100km championships in Holland in September. He’s been selected as part of a very strong a Great Britain team hoping to repeat their bronze medal success from 2014.

He’s on fine form this summer, having recently won the North Downs Way 50 mile ultra, smashing his own course record only weeks after setting a 100km pb. So Sunday should see him amongst the leaders in a test of endurance and mental toughness.

I’m looking forward to cheering him on but you know me, I’m not one to pass by an opportunity so when arose on Twitter I jumped at it. The UK RunChat team put an appeal out for a replacement runner for their 5 person team. I saw and figured “Well I’ll be there anyways, why not run for a few hours to keep warm.” So on Sunday I’ll be racing, in a team of people I’ve never met. Really excited at the prospect.

The Trailblaster 12 is organised by a Cannonball Events and as I said it’s 12hrs running around an undulating off-road loop. Team members have to each do at least 2 laps to count.

  
I won’t be fast, I’ll just take it steady and I expect Craig will go whizzing past a few times. I’m not stupid enough to try and keep up, I learnt that lesson many years ago. I’m just looking forward to being part of a team and experiencing a taste of what this ultra running is all about.

It could be a very dangerous taste.

3 responses to “Getting a taste

  1. Good luck on Sunday Andy, hope it goes well!

  2. Good luck Andy , enjoy , I’ve done many a 12 hour event

  3. Enjoy Andy good to have a change anyway!😎

Leave a Reply

