Life is Grand: being inspired by Family.

April seemed to go on for ever and ended in a fantastic week for my family and I. Our second child was due on the 14th April and given the size of Emma we expected it to be early. We were wrong, the 14th came and went, as due dates often do. I never went anywhere without my phone, waiting for a phone call that never actually came. 

Then at 5:27am on the 27th April after several hours labour we became a family of four. Matthew Andrew Holgate came into our lives and life literally would never be the same again. When they weighed him we quickly realised why poor Emma had been so big. Matthew was a hefty and healthy 10 pounds 10 ounces. Ouch!!

One of our first worries was breaking the news to Charlotte who only ever wanted a sister. She was brilliant though and like us instantly fell in love with him. Let’s hope that lasts when he starts pulling her hair and breaking her toys in the years to come.

   
 

I’m useless at late nights, I’m usually in bed about 10pm so readjusting to a newborn baby has knocked me for six. I’m sure it will get better. I’ve managed two short runs last week as I was just knackered and we were learning how to do things again in Matthews first week at home. He and a Emma had stayed in hospital for a week as he needed neonatal care for an infection. But at times like this training isn’t important, it’s all about bonding and finding your feet.

May began well for Team Holgate when my brother Craig took the silver medal at the Anglo-Celtic plate (UK championships) 100k race in a new pb time of 7:01:30 – that’s 6:47 min miling for 62 miles. Insane when you think about it. This time also gained him the world A standard time and qualification for Great Britain again at the world championships where he finished 16th last year. It was a fantastic result as he’d been suffering with a bad chest in the days before the race. He also achieved a team gold medal by leading home his England teammates Marcus Scotney and Jon Sharkey. 

  
So I’ve found inspiration from my family both young and old (sorry Craig – he’s only 38). I am inspired to run more, run further and finally get fitter after a few years of racing out of shape after seeing Craig’s achievements. And I now have Matthew to add to Charlotte, who inspire me every day with their love, enthusiasm and wonder. 

Life is grand. Enjoy your week everyone πŸ™‚

4 responses to “Life is Grand: being inspired by Family.

  1. Magna Carter PSOF

    Awwww… that’s fab!

    Now you’ve got a budding Ironkid in both categories! πŸ™‚

    Congratulations… a daughter is a blessing… (from a pirate who’s definitely got a daddy’s girl!)

  2. Great post Andy. I love triathlon and many other things, but family comes first. Congratulations to you all on the arrival of Matthew.

  3. Congratulations mate

  4. Awesome news !! Congratulations

Leave a Reply

