Beyond the Horizon

“You are having an operation next week why are you training so hard?” was a question that I got asked last week. It didn’t take me more than a second to think about my answer. “I’m in this for the long term, my goals lie firmly beyond the horizon”. Yeah it sounds shit but it’s entirely true, and I also had the mind set of soon I won’t be able to run for a month or two so I’m making the most of now.

I put in aΒ seven hour training week, which was two hours more than my previous few weeks and I loved every sweat soaked minute of it. Four hours running, including some evil 1 minute intervals at 6.45-7.15 min mile pace and three hours of turbo.

On Friday (6th March) a surgeon will be drilling through my collarbone, inserting hollow titanium screws and inserting a synthetic SARS ligament which will hopefully stabilize my fractured AC Joint in my shoulder. I’m a mixture of nerves and excitement. I’ve endured searing pain at times since July when the accident occurred and my movements/daily life has been impacted. I’m looking forward to that changing. I’m looking forward to being able to tie my shoe laces without grimacing, being able to get out of a chair or the bath without feeling the internal needles in my shoulder and I’m really looking forward to being able to pick up my daughter and cuddle her properly without discomfort. Yes I’m looking forward to cycling and swimming again but they are months away and will follow weeks in a sling and more weeks in rehab.

It will be a long slow process, I’ll have to stay calm and work within my limits much as I have been doing with my low heart rate running. It has been fantastic preparation mentally for what is to come.

I love my running ( as you can see in this photo from Saturday – me and Gary Hill post run grinning like kids in a sweet shop ) and I’m really going to miss it but as I said earlier I’m looking beyond the horizon, that’s where I’ll find the new improved unbroken glassman.

The COLT Clydesdales with a post run glow

The COLT Clydesdales with a post run glow

Wish me luck, I’ll be back post operation with an update.

Stay safe everyone, train hard, have fun and race like you mean it.

Andy
x

12 responses to “Beyond the Horizon

  1. Good luck Andy. I hope all goes well and that you are back running as soon as you can be.

  2. thanks Peter πŸ˜‰

  3. Good luck Andy. Hope everything goes well with the op. Love reading your blog and have read both books and recommended them to others. Best wishes Pat

  4. Thanks very much Pat, glad you are enjoying the blog and the books cheers Andy

  5. Small steps x

  6. Don’t forget you will then be a part of the great triathlon community that function with snazzy metal bits! Just a hint they don’t like below freezing!’❄❄

  7. Recover strong, don’t Rush the return to training, it’s like the benefits of low heart rate running : frustrating but the end result is worth it πŸ™‚ all the best

  8. Sorry to hear that. You have had a really tough time.
    Wishing you all the best, you will be back, stronger than ever πŸ™‚

  9. Sorry to hear your op has been postponed – lets hope they find a window soon to get you mended – Good Luck Andy x

  10. Hi Andy
    Hope your op goes well and you’re back tri-ing very soon. Love the books and the blog.
    We went to the 220 Tri show on Sunday and met Adam Walker, the guys who swum the seven seas swims. He has developed a way of swimming that puts less pressure on your shoulder joints, as he has had three ops on his. I haven’t had a proper training session with him yet, but using the technique in my pool session last night, I took over three minutes off my PB for 2000 mtrs. It may be worth a look
    All the best
    Ian

  11. Man, Listened to your book on Audible probably 7 times. The best book out there. Thank you!

Leave a Reply

