Getting back up

Vince Lombardi once famously said “It doesn’t matter how many times you get knocked down, but how many times you get back up.” I’m slowly getting back up, slowly starting to move forward again and focussing on what lies ahead.

I won’t lie it’s been a difficult five weeks since I came off my bike, in terms of trying to stay positive and in dealing with the pain. I didn’t sleep for two weeks, I was so uncomfortable and just in constant pain. I was tired beyond compare but sleep just wouldn’t take me, and when it did it was only toying with me. I tried to stay positive, and for the most I did but there were times when I just wanted to scream, so instead I had a chocolate biscuit. Not good. I know that stress and boredom are trigger switches for my unhealthy eating and in the last few weeks I was destructively trigger happy. But enough gloom, life is too short.

A lot of positives came my way too. My family and friends were amazing, it’s times of adversity that make you value what you have, and I have a lot. My daughter Charlotte gave me a ‘magic plaster’ to help my arm heal. And you know what I really think it helped πŸ™‚ .Β A second surgeon was much more interested in my questions about triathlon and how I could come back, he explained the injury and we discussed physio and rehab. That appointment immediately erased all the negativity and gave me a renewed energy to come back. I started walking, I got back on the turbo and I started eating well again. Working on undoing the self-inflicted damage of the previous ‘feeling sorry for myself moments’. And on the surgeons suggestion I started running again.

The magic plaster

The magic plaster

The feeling of dread that consumed me as I walked through Williamsons Park in Lancaster was very real, I was about to slowly jog for a couple of minutes, I expected my displaced collarbone to be like a hot poker poking into my shoulder as the two bones grated together. I closed my eyes and pushed off with my right leg, gently placing my left foot to the floor as I became a born again runner. My eyes opened, where was the pain? Where was the discomfort? I plodded on, still I was pain free. The fear etched on my face was replaced by unadulterated jubilation. I felt good, that planned 2 minutes turned into 30 minutes. I was slow, but I was happy. This one moment gave me the boost that I needed to get myself back on track. Granted it will be a while until I swim or cycle outside but I felt like I was back, I felt like I could start to focus on 2015 and what I could achieve.

I have now run 6 miles pain free in an hour. This is great progress. I’m working with a new coach, a man I trust and respect and he has me training in completely different way. We’ve gone back to basics and I’m seeing results in the data I’m recording. I’m listening and learning, and feel more focussed than I have in years. I’m eating healthy and hopefully I’ll shift a significant amount of weight before next summer when I take on the Outlaw Half Ironman. My pb is 5.35 for a half, I feel confident that I can get under that. We’ll see.

So I’m back up, I’m moving forward and I’m having fun. What more could a simple ironman want out of life? Until next time, have fun and stay safe.

11 responses to “Getting back up

  1. Small steps but V.imp big strides Andy πŸ‘πŸƒ

  2. I’m 3/4 way through your first book, really good read. It seems to be helping me get my mojo back for triathlon training! Sorry to hear about your accident, pleased your on the mend.

  3. Great news! See you at the Outlaw

  4. As always you are an inspiration – hope things keep moving in the right direction πŸ™‚

  5. Great stuff Holgs, so glad to hear you’re so positive and heading in the right direction

  6. So pleased to hear that you are up and running and that it’s OK. I’m sure that time to heal helps. Best wishes, julie

  7. That’s really great news well done and keep up the good work.

  8. Just reading your book (what an awesome read, truly inspiring). I set myself a few goals this year to complete a 10k, a triathlon and a tough mudda. I have managed to run in Ron Hills Accrington 10k, a total warrior at Leeds and clitheroe, Salford and Wirral sprint triathlons. But not so long ago I had a fall and it’s dampened my enthusiasm for cycling but after reading your book I’m more motivated to get back on the saddle. Thank you

  9. As the Chumbawumba song went “I get knocked down, but I get up again, you’re never going to keep me down….”. Just ignore the bit where it then goes “he drinks a whisky drink, he drinks a vodka drink, he drinks a lager drink, he drinks a cider drink…”!!

  10. Great work. Loved ur first book. Must read the second one!
    Please check my blog http://www.wetsuitbiketrainers,.WordPress.com
    Keep the good work !

  11. Hi Andy ive just been reading your book and hope to achieve my biggest goal of completing my first olympic triathlon next year at the wiggle portsmouth. Training was ment to commence a couple of weeks ago but unfortunately ive dislocated my left patella at work so im layed up reading instead (if i didn’t have bad luck id have no luck). Im 38 a smoking asthmatic 18st oh and have bad knees, lol. Am i getting myself at it? Haha. The sabatier in my head is fairly active at the moment as i feel a million miles from being able to run to the shop. Reading your book has made me realise that anything is possible if you want it enough. So keep inspiring others and i hope training is injury free and enjoyable. Trev

Leave a Reply

