Running Awards 2014 : Got to be in it to win it.

Can't Swim, Can't Ride, Can't - Running Awards 2014 - Finalist Best Book.

Can’t Swim, Can’t Ride, Can’t – Running Awards 2014 – Finalist Best Book.

In late 2013 I was informed that my first book Can’t Swim, Can’t Ride, Can’t Run had been nominated in the category of ‘Best Book’ at the 2014 Running Awards.
I was really pleased as the nomination had come from a member of the public ( and NO it wasn’t me! ) but I didn’t really expect to hear anything more on the matter as the top 12 books with the most public votes would make the final short-list in January and the rest in true X-Factor/Strictly/Generic talent show program style would be voted off.

I was really chuffed when I was informed that my book had made the final short-list, so a great big thank you to everyone who voted for me in the initial stage. It is fantastic to be a finalist especially when my book is included along side some brilliant books that occupy space on my own bookshelves at home such as Born To Run, Feet in the Clouds, Eat and Run, Running with the Kenyans and What I think about when I talk about Running. I still find it amazing that my book belongs along side those, I guess I’ll never get used to that.

Anyways I’ll get to the point, the awards ceremony is this Friday night in that there London town. I’m lucky enough to be attending, I think the cloakroom attendant must have rung in sick and they needed someone to cover. Seriously though I’m looking forward to the event, it will be good to be in a room surrounded by the great and the good of the Running World.

Voting closes at 6pm (UK Time ) tomorrow, April 10th – If you voted before January you can now vote again in this final stage. If you feel my book is worthy of your vote here’s what you do. Click on the image below, in column 3, choose my book ( 3rd in list ) register ( you just need an email ) and place your vote.

Running Awards 2014 vote for Can't Swim, Can't Ride, Can't Run by Andy Holgate

Running Awards 2014 vote for Can’t Swim, Can’t Ride, Can’t Run by Andy Holgate

The winners will be announced obviously at the ceremony on Friday and in the media over the weekend.

Thanks very much if you decide to vote, I really appreciate it. I don’t expect to win but you never know after all you’ve got to be in it to win it πŸ™‚

21 responses to “Running Awards 2014 : Got to be in it to win it.

  1. done, done and done again… good luck and you are worthy of you invite, enjoy

  2. Still think the Freckleton Half marathon should made it in…..it made in the runners world top 20, of the last 20 years…..

    • I guess it depends on who votes – only 2 half maras in the North ( excluding Scotland ). Spectated at Freckleton a couple of times and it seems a great race.

      • It is you should give it go sometime.

        Well done on your nomination, i like the idea of the running awards. I guess its not very well known at the moment and it will / may grow. Then hopefully we will get a more even spread of events and such to vote for.

        Good luck!!

  3. Done – loved the books, Andy…also voted for Outdoor Fitness in the magazine category – great read every month.

  4. I tried to do it through the picture and it didnt seem to work so I just googled it and registered for an account and then voted…

    good luck with it. are you planning to do the second book in Audio form?

    • Thanks very much for voting. The Audio books are controlled by Amazon/Audible, they decide if they want to do the book or not and my publisher then sells them the rights. Maybe if you sent them an email they might have it on their radar, but out of my control really.

  5. I cant think of a better book to win, I loved it. (yes I have voted) Both of your books remind me of why we mere mortals get out there in our running shoes in the first place, and that we all suffer on the not so good running days. Inspiring in a very real way. Good luck with the awards!

  6. How could I not vote for it, you kindly mentioned me as the official from Monster Middle in 2011 who didn’t DQ you after your saddle broke. A decision I still mention when I’m teaching new race officials (I’m a volunteer BTF race officials tutor) as a ‘judicious use of common sense’. Really hope it wins!.

    • Thanks very much – I always mention our conversation at the end of that race where you showed me some mercy in my talks πŸ˜‰ Really must get back to Ely at some point to do the race proper justice. Thanks for volunteering, our sport would be nothing without people like yourself giving up your time. REALLY APPRECIATE IT!!

  7. Just in the nick of time, vote logged, good luck Andy πŸ™‚

  8. Voted yesterday. Read both your books, both great reads. Met and heard you speak at Manchester tri show last year. You inspire me and we walk the same path. Always good to see you cheering us on at local tri’s. Just seeing you at IMUK spurred me on. Keep it up. You prove Anything is Possible and inspire us to believe!

  9. Thanks for your vote and your kind words Dean πŸ™‚ I love getting out and cheering as I know how much I appreciate it when I’m racing. See you soon at another race.

  10. Get in!!
    Well done Holgs – very well deserved. We demand a trilogy!

  11. Didn’t vote as only just read this but then checked out and see that you won the damn thing! Many many congratulations

Leave a Reply

