It’s time to be an Ironman

I’ve been up since 6am, and I’m not going out training or indeed going to work. A restless night has been followed by a few hours of triple checking I have my passport, travel documents, money, bike shoes etc… Yep, that’s right, after a year of preparation it’s time to fly off that unforgiving yet apparently beautiful volcanic rock off the coast of Africa. Lanzarote here I come.

bike box

One bike, ready to fly

I’ve spent the last couple of days packing all my gear, taking the bike apart, packing it in its box. Stressing when I couldn’t get a pedal off, making a mad dash to the local bike shop and watching two mechanics jumping on the bike spanner to loosen it. At least it wasn’t me being a numpty for once. BUT everything is in place, everything is ready, it’s time for the talking / blogging to stop, it’s time to look inside myself and find the answers that I need to succeed at my biggest challenge yet.

I’ve been amused at the banter in the last few days that if I don’t finish the race the next book deal is off, I love banter, having the piss taken out of you is one of the joys of having mates in the sport. I might be slow, hey I might be crap, and I’ve even held up my hands at being a “Fat comfy librarian with moobs” and I laugh and give it back.

BUT

I’m also dedicated, tough, focussed, and hungry. I want this race more than any other, this is the ultimate measurement of myself as an athlete, and possibly as a person. I don’t care about the next book, yes it will feature Lanzarote, but I’d rather have this race on my CV than any book. I’m a triathlete who writes, NOT a writer who swims, rides and runs.

A small note of thanks to my wonderful wife Em, this will be the first Ironman she’s not attended, difficult now we have Charlotte to look after. I’ll miss her support, but I know she’ll be with me in spirit. Thank you Em, for being you. Without you I’d not even have made it to the start line. I appreciate the sacrifices you’ve made this year, this one will be for you and Charlotte.

And thank you to all of you readers who inspire me with your support, knowing that some of you will be tracking me will keep me moving forward on Saturday 19th May. Track me at Ironmanlive.com My race number is 865, surname obviously Holgate.

So, Number 865 your time is up, it’s time to get it on, It’s time to be an Ironman.

See you all on the other side.

 

13 responses to “It’s time to be an Ironman

  1. good luck big man, I hope everything goes well.

    All men dream but not equally. Those who dream by night in the dusty recesses of their minds wake in the day to find that it was vanity; but the dreamers of the day are dangerous men, for they may act their dream with open eyes to make it possible.
    T.E. Lawrence
    best wishes Des (horse)

  2. Hi Andy,
    We will be watching and cheering you on. Good luck!
    Scott

  3. I’ll look forward to seeing you on “this side” when you get here!

  4. Just finished reading your book, good luck !

  5. Good luck Holgs – you deserve a good finish. You said it yourself “I’m also dedicated, tough, focussed, and hungry. I want this race more than any other…”. You know you’ve done the work, now go and enjoy the race!

  6. Been reading your book ! Been working out with a personal trainer since 6th Jan this year after 15years of idle living. Lost 4 stone so far……just entered a Sprint Tri at the end of May, some twenty years after my last one……have you and your book for the ‘push’ in this direction ! 🙂
    Thanks for the inspiration fella.
    G

  7. Good luck fella! One question What happened to the ROO?

    • The Roo is alive and well, and will be making an appearance at The Outlaw. After lots of test rides, thinking etc… I decided to take the Giant to Lanzarote as I was more comfortable climbing on the road bike.

  8. All the very best Andy H. Read your book and keep an eye on your blog. All inspirational stuff. I suspect Lanza is gonna hurt a bit but hey if it didn’t what would be the point

  9. We know you finished, well done!! Let us know how you did on your PB when you recover enough to put fingers to keyboard…

  10. Andy, I hope your race went well. I was bought your book for christmas by a friend as a ‘joke’ present my name is also Andrew and I have dodgy knees. Its inspiring and I have been training for another unpopular sport (ultimate frisbee) and using the bike and swimming to increase my core strength. As it happens I completed my first triathlon on the 19th May. Its all your fault (and jeffs for buying me your book). You are an inspiration and I have thought about your training plan when I been out on my own not wanting to do another lap of fartleg spints but forcing myself throught it. I know it will be worth it come competition time.

    Let us know how you got on in Lansagrotti and with the book awards.

    Drew

    • Hi Drew,
      Won’t bore you with details ( see race report for that ) but went really well thanks. I have a mate who plays ultimate frisbee and it keeps him fit for his sprint triathlons. Well done on completing your first triathlon, hopefully not your last.
      Good luck with the training, and yep you’ll rreap the benefits of those extra reps come race day.

      Didn’t win the book award ( blog to follow about that ) but it was good fun.

      Andy

Leave a Reply

