Happy New Year

First of all I’d like to wish each and every one of you all the best for a great 2012, may it be filled with good health, fun, love, success and more PB’s than you imagined. 2012 is going to be a very busy year for me as well, but more on that in a moment.

Secondly I’d like to thank those of you that interact with me on Facebook or Twitter that took the time to send me your thoughts and good wishes. It’s been a tough Christmas for Team Holgate and we really appreciate your support. My wife Emma is now out of hospital following her asthma attack ( she came home Christmas Eve ) and is on the road to recovery. Unfortunately my Mam is still very poorly and in intensive care following her asthma attack, but she’s a fighter and she’s determined and hopefully with some good luck and the amazing work of the doctors and nurses she’ll be stronger soon.

So I’m sure you’ll forgive me for not blogging much, my days have been spent playing nursemaid to Em, Dad to Charlotte, and visiting my mam. I’ve managed to get 3 or 4 runs in, to help keep me sane but again training hasn’t been a priority, and even if it was it just wasn’t practical. Em couldn’t be left on her own with Charlotte, she couldn’t even pick her up. Times like that make you realise just how lucky we are not to suffer something so common but devastating as asthma. I’ll certainly think twice about moaning about an aching knee or a sore achilles – yeah it hurts but it doesn’t have the potential to kill me.

Sorry if this is a bit black, my head is all over the place at the moment. I think I’m just running on adrenaline.

On to the positive, hopefully 2012 will be a good year. As I said earlier, I’m certainly going to be busy and here’s why:

  1. I’m going to be a great husband and father.
  2. I’m going to train for and complete two Ironman races.
  3. I’m hopefully going to get a PB at the Outlaw.
  4. I’m going to write a sequel to the best-selling Can’t Swim, Can’t Ride, Can’t Run – which will be published on 1st January 2013.
  5. I’m going to achieve my goal of reaching my “Fighting Weight” again.
  6. I’m going to blog more ( sorry about that ).

So there you have it, cards on the table. It’s going to be a very eventful year, hope yours is to.

12 responses to “Happy New Year

  1. Wishing all the best to your mom, wife, you, and your whole family. I’ve just started re-reading your book, so I’m glad a sequel will be coming out!!

  2. Fantastic goals Andy, and we will benefit from them by getting to read your next book! Nice one 🙂

    Wishing Emma & your Mum a very speedy recovery.

    Best of luck for the big year ahead of you!

    • Thanks Janna – good luck with reaching your goals this year as well.

      Emma is much better thanks and my Mam is slowly improving, which is amazing considering what the doctors had told us.

  3. Just finished your amazing book. I guess I may be one of many who since reading your book has been inspired to up their game!!
    Cheers.

    • Glad you enjoyed my book – and thanks for taking the time to let me know, it’s always cool to hear that.
      Good luck with uping your game and for the training and events you have planned this year.
      Cheers,
      Andy

  4. I didn’t realise your family had been ill. I hope they all get very well as soon as poss. I bought your book in the summer and I found it very inspiring and a very good read. I have been doing sprint triathlons for the last 3 years. So far I have been last in nearly everyone I’ve completed but I do still like them. I wish you lots of success for 2012, and I can’t wait to read your next book!

    • Hi Jennifer,
      Thanks for your kind words – everyone is now on the mend thankfully. Glad you enjoyed the book, and cool that you found it inspiring. I always get goosebumps when someone says that – never thought I’d inspire anyone.
      Well done on the sprint triathlons – last is still a great achievement and still MUCH better than the millions of people sat on their bums not doing anything. So Good on ya, good luck with the training and racing in 2012.
      Cheers,
      Andy

  5. Just finished your book which I was given for Christmas and wanted to say it was an inspiring read.
    I have recently become a dad for the second time and reading the section on how your dad supported you round the German Ironman run brought a tear to the eye. I hope all your family recover from recent illnesses and that you have a successful 2012 in all walks of your life.
    I am inspired to go from running to competing and will be doing a duathlon this year – thank you.
    I will look forward to the next book!

    • Congratulations on becoming a Dad again Francis, sounds like you are going to be busy. Good luck with the sleepless nights.
      My dad was amazing in Frankfurt, and he continues to be.
      Good luck with the duathlon and have a great 2012.
      Andy

  6. I started reading your book this week, I’m a lapsed cyclist and did a bit of running a few years back, not done any decent swimming since I left school! almost 30 years ago, but your book is an inspiration, and being fairly local, Preston, I know a lot of the places you talk about so can imagne the scenes, especiallt Southport prom being cold and windy, cycled that many times, now I’ve got to get my finger out and get on with it!

    • Good on you Jed for getting back out there. Yeah that day on Southport front ranks as one of the bleakest I’ve faced, mind you even on a nice day it can still be a bit wild there.
      Glad you liked the book and cool that you could relate to where I was talking about. No doubt we’ll pass each other at somepoint in the lanes around Myerscough or Pilling or the fylde coast.
      Good luck with the training.
      Cheers,
      Andy

Leave a Reply

