And so….it starts.

I had a rough night last night, my little girl Charlotte has a hell of a cough and is teething so needless to say Em and I saw pretty much every hour during the night. Thankfully however both my girls ( and the cat ) were flat-out asleep when I left at 6.30am to get to the pool. Though heavy with sleep there was a certain sparkle in my eyes as I prepared to begin quite possibly the most important and tough 23 weeks of my life ( in terms of Triathlon ).

Today is the first day of my Lanzarotte Ironman plan, designed to get me round the hot, hilly and windy 140.2 miles of volcanic rock. I’m being coached by the COLT founder and Captain, Richard Mason who is also a personal trainer.

Each week I get sent my schedule, including details of what each session should be, why I’m doing it and what the goal for that week is. I’m also receiving detailed data on what heart rate zones I should be in, what pace I should by training at and what cadence I should be spinning at on the bike / turbo. I’m really excited by it all.

It all kicked off at 7am when I was the first to break the water in the University pool. It was an hour workout, during the warm up I started slowly and built up the pace and effort with:
1oom swim, 100m kick, 100m swim, 100m kick
Then the main set was a 1000m really concentrating on pace ( my pace isn’t quick! ), recording my times every 100m and trying to keep each lap in a consistent time frame. Here’s the breakdown of what I managed:
(Remember each lap is 100m so 4 lengths of the pool)

Lap 1 : 2.16
Lap 2 : 2.23
Lap 3 : 2.31
Lap 4 : 2.23
Lap 5 : 2.24
Lap 6 : 2.26
Lap 7 : 2.23
Lap 8 : 2.22
Lap 9 : 2.23
Lap 10: 2.21
TOTAL : 23.57

So as I said not the fastest, maybe I was tired because of the night I’d had, there is room for improvement and progress as the plan continues. However 8 of the 10 laps were within 5 seconds of each other so that’s not a bad start for pacing.

I’ll be following this up with a 30 minute tempo run later and my first week will finish with 9 hours training banked…..not a bad start really.

7 responses to “And so….it starts.

  1. Good luck on the journey. I remember this time last year like it was yesterday and I am very jealous!

  2. Swimming after a tough night like is well…..tough! Even more impressive, you were able to remember to “lap” your watch every 100m. My brain tends to wander and I forget!!

  3. Good luck with it all Andy, you’ll probably have finished your 6th Ironman by the time I get to do one! – Simone 🙂

  4. Hi Andy – I’m the guy who connected with you on Twitter yesterday. I thought I’d drop you a quick comment on here to wish you luck. I live in Lanzarote and I’m a training for my first Tri in February (Enduroman – I’m doing the Olympic distance.)

    I know the IM bike course here well and ride sections of it often, and I’ve been involved with the organisation of IM here for years. Last year I was the live “Commentator” on Ironmanlive.com

    Do give me a shout if you need any help or advice prior to the event, and it would be great to meet up for a swim and a coffee once you get over here. My wife runs the website Lanzarote Information and you’ll find plenty of useful stuff on there. You can email me mikeatcamelmediagroup.com and the same applies to anyone else who is reading this and doing IM Lanzarote.

    Really enjoying the book!

    • Hi Mike,

      Good luck with the enduroman, those guys have a reputation for great ( mostly crazy distance ) events, so I’m sure it will be a great race.
      Cool that you were the commentator on Ironman Live, spent ages watching it last year as several of my club mates were racing there, think there are 10 of us this year, and one of us, Chris Wild will be doing his 10th Lanza I think.

      We’ll definately get together for a swim and a brew, looking forward to it – just got top do some training first 😉

      Cheers,
      Andy

  5. Well that’s encouraging – your 100m swim times are very similar to mine. Although I have no intention of stepping up beyond sprint distance this year, I do want to tackle my first Open Water tri. Keep up the training and focus. And keep telling us about it! We’ll all be wishing you well.

  6. Hi Andy,

    I just finished reading your book, it’s quite the inspiring read!
    It’s comforting to know I’m not the only one who seems to have silly accidents at the most inappropriate times leading up to races. Maybe it’s some kind of subconscious act by out bodies looking for some rest?!

    It’s so cool you are still blogging, andI can get an up to date account of where you are at. I kinda thought after the baby you might be an Ironman retiree, fair play.

    Seriously impressed you have signed up for Lanz, given your former aversion to the heat – it will be tough. I’ve just signed up for Ironman Nice, which defo won’t be easy either as a first Ironman.

    Regarding swimming, have you looked at Total Immersion at all? It’s something I used to get over being a really crap swimmer. Now I’m just a bit crap, I can swim pretty much effortlessly but slowly. Getting to a decent (sub 1:20) Ironman swim might take a bit more though.

    Cheers,
    Sean

Leave a Reply

