Unfinished Business

Back in 2010 my ‘A’ race for the year was the Outlaw. A new ‘ironman’ distance event in Nottingham. I was excited about the prospect of racing a fairly flat and fast course in an attempt to get under 12 hours. Unfortunately several factors saw the reverse, and I actually posted my worst Ironman result ever, limping home in 14:17:48.

Outlaw 2010

Just about finished in Daylight.

Although very disappointed at the time, I was pleased with the fortitude I displayed as it would have been so easy to not have actually started, and even easier to have stopped within the first mile of the marathon when my back was spasming. One thing I’m not though is a quitter, and I ground it out, vowing to return one day and do myself justice with a performance I know I’m capable of.

SO

 

Last night whilst Em was out at the cinema, and I was left alone with a laptop and a credit card, I entered the Outlaw. It was actually Vikings fault to be honest with you, he had posted on Facebook that he’d just entered and that places were going fast. Knowing that Dave The Ex-Spartan and Min had already entered, I figured it would be rude not to. It will actually be the first time that the four of us have raced together since that fateful day at The Big Woody back in 2007. So this will be a cool way to celebrate our “5th anniversary”.

It looks like it will be a cracking event, it’s the main Pirate race of the year and several of my COLT clubmates will be racing as well. Including two who have never done an Ironman before, I’m getting fully blamed for that. There’s a surprise.

Now ok, let’s just pause for a minute here. I’m completely focussed on Ironman Lanzarotte and all of my training post May 2012 will be geared towards that event. There is no choice, if I’m not prepared properly, that race will tear me apart and my day at the Outlaw will suffer also. I’m hoping that as I get stronger, fitter and faster ahead of Lanza, I’ll be able to actively recover in the 5 weeks till the Outlaw and use my top form to get the PB I desire on a much quicker and flatter course.

It’s a gamble, but one I’ve taken lots of advice on, and I’m confident that it will pay off. I just need to train smart, stay healthy and not lose the desire to attain my goal. You have no idea how badly I want this!

I’ll keep telling myself “Anything is Possible”

4 responses to “Unfinished Business

  1. That will be pre May 12 I reckon. Proof read by bassy
    xxx

  2. And you will be right as usual Mr Bassy Sir, thanking you kindly ha ha xx

  3. Hi Andy, just wanted to drop you a quick line as today back from a weeks holiday with your book as my choice of holiday read. It was fantastic and very inspirational. I took part in a sprint relay at the London Triathlon this year after thinking that there is no way I could do all three disciplines, however I have just entered the full sprint for next year and who knows that ironman badge of honour tattoo may be on my ankle in a few years. Thanks again for letting me in on your very personal journey.

    • Hi Noel,
      Good luck with the sprint next year, I’m sure that you’ll do great….and it’s only a matter of time until you go down the Ironman road 😉
      Thanks for taking the time to leave me a message, I really appreciate it, and I’m so glad that you enjoyed my story.
      Good luck with the training for London.
      Cheers,
      Andy

Leave a Reply

