Dare to dream

I’ve been away enjoying a family holiday in Beziers in the South of France. Wonderful to just get away and relax, it’s been a hectic year. Still managed to get some good runs in which you can see on my garmin connect site if you wish.

I was pleased with my 5 mile improvement of almost 5 minutes since last August, ok maybe it wasn’t as hot as it was then but it’s still a significant improvement, 41.51. It’s still a good few minutes off where I want to be but it’s a step forward. Most of my running was done in the high heat ( high 20’s / early 30’s ) to try to improve my tolerance to running in higher temperatures, something I don’t do well. And there was a good reason for this….

I finished my last blog post with the following :
“All this week I have been contemplating entering Ironman Lanzarote 2012 but if I can’t cope with the hills of Capenwray how the hell would I cope with Lanza? One dream too far maybe?”

Well after much soul-searching, discussions with Em, advice from three very experienced COLT club mates I decided to dare to dream. So my first race of 2012 will be Ironman Lanzarote on 19th May 2012.

EEK !!

The race has a mystical following among Ironman triathletes, known throughout the world for being the toughest official Ironman race on the planet. A combination of unforgiving sun, zero shade, hills, hills and more hills ( see bike profile below) amongst a desolate volcanic landscape means it requires every ounce of an athletes respect to make it to the finish line.
And then there is the wind…..Lanzarote is basically a volcanic rock stuck in the Atlantic Ocean and the winds swirl around it with tremendous force, just another limiting factor naturally designed to make the race interesting.

Ironman Lanzarote Bike profile

So followers of this blog, and those that have read the book will know that I’m crap at riding up hill and that I wilt in the heat. Everything about Lanza screams “Holgs this is one race too far” and quite frankly that is why it appeals to me. I owe it to myself to see if I have what it takes to face my demons and triumph. If I didn’t at least try this would have been one of life’s regrets, and I don’t do regrets.

So I have a lot of training to do in these 11 months, a lot of mistakes to correct from previous races, new things to try,and a hell of a lot of hills to conquer. Wish me look and follow my journey as I follow this twisted dream.

3 responses to “Dare to dream

  1. I for one, will be hoping you nail it 🙂

  2. Nice easy one to look forward too 😮

  3. Following in the footsteps of the burger boys. Videos of their day and struggles here:


Leave a Reply

