Warm weather training

I’ve been away in Beziers in the South of France for 10 days of rest and relaxation with Em. I did manage to get a few runs in though, a couple of 10 milers and a few 7 milers. It was between 31 and 34 degrees every day and I was deliberately running when it was hot to try and improve my tolerance to running in the heat.

The area I was running in, although flat, was simply stunning. I’d run along the Canal Du Midi and also through all the vinyards. On most of my runs I never saw another soul, it was completely deserted. I’d have to say they were some of the most enjoyable runs I’ve done. So if any of you ever get the opportunity to visit that part of the world I’d recommend it.

Feeling good after after my performance at Macclesfield I’ve entered the North West Triathlon in Nantwich, Cheshire on the 21st September. This will be the last triathlon of the season and should be a good day out as several pirates and friends will be doing it including Viking and Loon. Its a 500m swim in a brine pool, not looking forward to swallowing my own body weight in salt water, a 20km bike and a 5km run.

I’ve also entered Hellrunner an offroad tough mudfest by all accounts, this one is all Vikings fault but he did say that if I did it he’d do the Cross Bay half marathon next year.

Since getting back from France I’ve been out running a couple of times and feel quite strong, I just wish the weather would improve – last night after getting home I had to pour water out of my shoes and my rucksack !! I’m having a rest day day today, and then probably a long run tomorrow as Em is working till 9pm.

I’d like to say its good to be back but you know what I’d rather be in sunny France – at least I’d be dry !!

3 responses to “Warm weather training

  1. Bonjour Andy, comment allez-vous ? (thats my grasp of Francais exhausted I’m afraid)
    Sounds like you had a good hol’. We also have just returned from France and although we didn’t quiet get the same weather as you did , a good time was had by all. Even in the 25 deg we had, I found it a little ‘uncomfortable’ when out running . Sacre bleu! The Kronenburg, Pastis and Cote Du Rhone just poured out of me!
    I should be about this week should you fancy a gentle run or bike ride before the NW tri on Sunday
    Au revoir, A plus tard ,

    Andy

  2. Well your French is much better than mine mate !!
    Sounds like you had a good time as well, will be good to catch up.
    I’m about all week for either a run or a bike, email me and let me know.

  3. Put this down in the history books…

    I even heard Andy utter the words ‘I’ve really enjoyed relaxing and doing nothing…’ – I nearly collapsed with shock!

    (Although running every other day is not quite my idea of doing nothing!)

Leave a Reply

