A Stunning Ride

After my long ride on Monday my legs were a bit stiff and my backside still wasn’t thanking me for putting it on a saddle. As a result I had a an easy day on Tuesday just cycling to work and back.

I cycled to work on Wednesday and arranged to go out after work with John. John is really bike fit having just completed the gruelling Fred Whitton Challenge this past weekend in a very good time of 9:49. I enjoyed training with John last year, so was looking forward to it if a little nervous.

The route we took saw us go through Ellel and out through the back of Galgate and Dolphinholme climbing up towards Abbeystead. As predicted I was getting left on the hills but John was waiting for me at the top to catch up. I found I was climbing ok, my legs felt fine, just struggling abit with my breathing with this cold hanging over me still. A fast descent into Abbeystead and then an awful sharp but short climb out, hit the lowest gear and stand on the pedals. There wasn’t a soul about as we skirted along the edge of the Trough of Bowland and onto the fell roads, think the only things we saw were lots of lambs and a hare. The views were brilliant and it was just one of those nights and routes that are made for a bike !

Another tough climb into Dolphinholme and then we headed back through the Uni and home. My legs are feeling it a bit today but it was a great ride.

Statistics: distance 24.09 miles    time 1:49:46      13.1 Av Speed   40.1 Max speed

Leave a Reply

