February goal achieved

Well I set out to be the top swimmer at the pool in February and I achieved it by going 21 times and swimming 2200 lengths which equates to 33000m or 20.63 miles. Very pleased with that and I’ll try to do it again in March.

I just can’t seem to shake this bug thats been going round, Em was off ill last week and lots of people I work with have had it…..I think its a peril of working with students, loads of regional variations of bugs coming back after reading weeks and weekends away. Its really pissing me off because I couldn’t run at the weekend because I had a really bad sore throat and felt crap. I was dying to get out for a run but Em wouldn’t let me, at least one of us is sensible !!

I went swimming on Sunday and Monday and managed 200 lengths, still didn’t feel brilliant. Tuesday I thought I’ve got to get out for a run, so I did 7 miles before work  in an hour and was struggling in the minus temperatures. But I obviously haven’t shaken off this virus because my heart rate was about 20 beats per minute higher than usual. At one stage I was running a 9:30 mile and really really struggling ( I’ve walked faster ) and my HR was 172.

I ended up jogging home really slowly ( too tight to get the bus ) and did the 3.3 miles in 30 minutes, I was knackered.

Am having a rest today and came in the car as my throat is really sore again today and my legs hurt, I’ve got tiger balm on my calves so I’m going to smell lovely all day.

I just hope I can get back to near 100% soon, as March is supposed to be my big month for training. Oh well being a runner is never easy.

Leave a Reply

