Ulverston 10k

Well after a decent weeks training with Andy I woke up on Sunday to face an awful day with wind and rain, as I prepared to run my first competative ( non triathlon ) 10k for 2 1/2 years. I’d felt nervous all week but I wasn’t too bad on the morning of the race.

Got entered and then discovered that the race had been lengthened and the course changed to avoid a fallen tree in the Priory grounds. I wasn’t too bothered about this to be honest, the longer the better as far as I was concerned. I met Lesley and she didn’t believe me when I told her, must have been the years of me winding her up that makes her always think I’m doing so. My cousin Mike was also running ahead of his achilles operation this week, he figure he had nothing to lose.

I set off at a decent pace and I felt pretty comfortable even though it was faster than I’m used to running, all of my training had been about endurance and not speed. After 3.5 miles my fruit and fibre breakfast came back to haunt me and all I could taste were dried bannanas, it took all my self control not to throw up. Should have struck to plain toast or cereal.

So I kept going and was pleased with my run, my legs felt fine, it was just my lungs that couldn’t cope. I think I need to get a few more speedwork sessions into my training. I know I have a good endurance base but I need to start picking up the pace if I want to run a sub 3:30 marathon in 2008 and a sub 40 10k. Anyways I finished in 48 minutes something ( the results aren’t up yet ). Mike had a good run to finish in about 44 minutes ( I think he said ) and Lesley did well to finish in about 53 minutes in awful weather conditions.

We had great support from Em, my mam and dad and my auntie Jean, they stood out in the rain and gale force winds watching us nutters. I did joke to my dad as I passed him a 100m from the finish “I’m sticking to Triathlons….they’re easier !!”

Only kidding.

Leave a Reply

