As sick as a dog.

Had an awful day yesterday, felt like I had a bit of a cold but decided to go swimming in my lunch hour anyway.

 All seemed fine, I was swimming quite relaxed and enjoying myself. I’d just done 18 minutes of my planned 45 when I was struck with a blinding headache and very very urgent desire to be sick. Luckily I was at the end of a length, I managed to drag myself out of the pool and leg it to the chnging rooms where I was violently sick.

The worst thing though was the pain of the headache, right at the front of my head and totally debilitating, I could have cried with the pain. I managed to get myself dressed, I thought fresh air and food will make you feel better, I ate my turkey sandwich and walked very gingerly back to work. I got back there and immediately threw up again. With my head down the loo, I was saying to myself “I’m NEVER swimming again”, I felt that bad.

Had to go and tell my boss I was going home. I went home and took some paracetamol and went to bed, slept till about 6:30. Got up, ate some toast and felt better. WEIRD !!

I’d asked and there was no chlorine in the pool, so that kinda rules that one out. Think it was probably a case of pushing myself too much when not a 100%, I don’t know ? But I don’t ever want to feel like that again. Didn’t get any sleep last night because I was lying there thinking “There is no way I can swim 2.4 miles!!” Scares the hell out of me to be honest. Just going to have to get over that and get back in Pine Lake on Monday night, I’m not giving up, I can’t let myself down or those people that have put up with me for the last twelve months. I WILL BE AN IRONMAN……I’ll just have to remember the paracetamol !!

3 responses to “As sick as a dog.

  1. If you don’t do this, I’ll be having major words…!!

    Ha ha only kidding – you have done great and will do on the day.
    Think it was just 24hr bug.

  2. You’ll have to get in a queue behind Viking, Min and Dave !!

  3. Deffo me first in that queue!

    If I can swim it then you certainly can – get back in there as soon as your feeling ok and forget the bad session.

Leave a Reply

