Thoughts from a week of enforced rest….

Here’s a statement that will probably shock most of you, I feel so much better and stronger for having had a week off . I think the enforced rest because of illness has done me good. I did half an hour on the cross trainer this afternoon and it felt really good, yeah I know its not “proper” training but its still better than nothing, which is precisely what I’ve done all week.

I’ve been walking round weezing like an old bloke all week, couldn’t make any phone calls because the heavy breathing would have probably seen me arrested for being a perv ! The steroid inhaler has obviously helped to reopen my windpipe and allow my lungs to work again.

Basically this week I’ve been for a couple of walks just to try and keep slightly active and read old copies of 220 Magazine and the Triathletes Training Bible just to keep myself from going crazy without any training. Emma has been on several 9pm shifts – think she volunteered on purpose to stay out of my way, not training makes me grumpy usually but I’ve been pretty good this week I think. I finally finished watching the last six episodes of the last series of Angel on DVD, and very good they were as well. Its this kind of relaxation that I’ve actually enjoyed and not done for a while, if I’d been training I wouldn’t have done that. It did annoy me though that the weather has been so good all week, perfect for bike riding, and I couldn’t take advantage of that. However for once my sensible head was on and I just stayed away from anything to do with training with the view that long term it was better to sit this week out rather than sneak back and bugger myself up !

So it also gave me some time to look at my racing calendar, next up will be the Rossendale Triathlon on the 20th May, need to send my application off on Tuesday. That will be a hilly one as I know the area where the swim and the run take place because its where they have the mid-lancs cross country races. I raced there once and ended up thigh deep in mud, those where the days when cross country races were always muddy, wet and tough !

Am also considering doing a half ironman event in Cleveland on the 7th July, that would be a good long training session to gage my fitness ahead of the full ironman. Just need to work a few wedding things out to fit in with that one, and wait till pay day to enter.

So looking forward to a good week of training this week after my week of enforced rest…

4 responses to “Thoughts from a week of enforced rest….

  1. Glad to see you fit and well again – hopefully that will be the last of any injury/illness worries for 2007.

  2. I think a salutory lesson here in listening to our bodies!

    Glad you are back on for m tho. Have to say, during my 2 mile gradual uphill yesterday, your name was kinda mud! I really honestly thought I was gonna throw up. I couldn’t even stand up to pedal to get some extra oomph cos my legs had curiously turned to jelly!

    Still, 53 miles in the bag and no aches today – altho there’s no denying I have tired legs!!

  3. A quote sent to me by Iron Mike – on his 6th IM this year and aiming for sub 10 hours at Austria:-

    It is not the critic who counts; not the man who points out how the strong man stumbles, or where the doer of deeds could have done them better. The credit belongs to the man who is actually in the arena, whose face in marred by dust and sweat and blood; who strives valiantly; who errs, who comes short again and again, because there is no effort without error and shortcoming; but who does actually strive to do the deeds; who knows great enthusiasms, the great devotions; who spends himself in a worthy cause; who at the best knows in the end the triumph of high achievement, and who at the worst, if he fails, at least fails while daring greatly, so that his place shall never be with those cold and timid souls who neither know victory nor defeat.

    (Sorry to hijack your blog Holgs – but I thought we could all do with seeing this!!)

  4. Its ok MTB, I just got confused after the word Critic….

Leave a Reply

