I won’t let the sun go down on me….

No I’ve not taken to impersonating the bearded wonder from Wham, thats basically what I was thinking to myself last night as I finished work and hopped on the bike. I figured that I had about 90 minutes until the sunset, and decided to try and race it home.

I set out south on the country roads through Galgate, and Scorton, it was quite a chilly and windy night but great fun to be back out doing some serious biking.

I don’t know about you lot but when I’m out running or cycling I usually have a song playing over and over again in my head, last night it was a song by a band called Bobhowla entitled “Million Dollar Man”. The lead singer is Em’s mate Howard and although as yet unsigned they play a lot of gigs around Liverpool, I got his latest demo CD the other week and its been the only thing in my car CD player ever since. Its brilliant…..anyways I digress !

They were muck spreading last night as well, the stench was unbearable as I crossed the A6 and headed towards Cockerham. I’m sure that I can still taste it in the back of my throat ! Its not exactly hilly or flat, I think it can be described as undulating or rolling but its not a bad route as I headed back through Thurnham and on towards civilisation, or what passes for it in these parts.

Switch the gears onto the granny ring for the shear climb up my street, legs felt ok as I unclipped and looked up to see a glorious sunset combined with the storm clouds rolling in from the Trough of Bowland. Great ride.

Statistics : 20.1 miles     1:10:37    138HR      16.1mph av     28.7 max     955 cals.

I’d also ridden 4 miles in a round about way to work in the morning as well.

Leave a Reply

